Consortium beneficiaries/partners

See below for a list of our beneficiary and partner organisations.


AU Aarhus University is the second largest university in Denmark with 39.000 enrolled students, producing 260 Ph.D.s annually, with 200 enrolled PhD students at the Faculty of Science and Technology. In the QS World University Ranking AU ranked 91 in 2013. AU’s research and training expertise cover all ranges of academic disciplines.

Founded in 1479, UC is the oldest and second largest univesity in Denmark, and hosts over 37,000 students and 7,000 employeees. A member of the International Alliance of Research Universities, its research and training expertise span the full range of academic disciplines.

Founded in 1965, WARWICK is ranked 3rd within the ‘Top 50 under 50’ QS world rankings, and currently ranks 8th in the UK university league table. A member of the prestigious “Russell Group” of UK universities, Warwick stands out as the most successful young university in the UK.

The National University of La Plata (UNLP) was founded in 1905 and since that time has pioneered in cultural and scientific advanced developments. The UNLP offer more than 100 titles and host over 120.000 students. In addition the UNLP has research and development Institutes, Centers and Laboratories where about 6,000 researchers perform their activity.

UB is a multidisciplinary University counting about 45.000 students and 5630 staff. UB offers 245 curricula leading to national degrees and about 35 international master and doctorate programmes (among which 9 got the Erasmus Mundus label). Its cutting-edge research activities are carried out in 70 research departments associated with major research bodies (CNRS, CEA, INSERM and INRA).

The Technical University of Denmark (DTU) is the leading technical university in Scandinavia with over 6,000 students, 800 PhD fellows, and 1500 scientists.

The DLR Rheinpfalz is a teaching and research organization of the State Rheinland-Pfalz in Germany, which comprise 65% of the German wine production. It was founded in 1899 and hosts 700 students in the vocational training in viticulture & oenology as well as horticulture. In 2009, a dual B.Sc.

The Laboratory of Aroma Analysis and Enology (LAAE) comprises more than 20 people working at the University of Zaragoza within the I3A (Institute of Engineering in Aragón), Faculty of Sciences (main site) and also in La Rioja, in collaboration with the ICVV (Institute for Wine and Vine Sciences).

INRA was founded in 1946 with the objective of using science and technology to develop agricultural production techniques and the genetic selection of plants and animals. Since then, with its 8.000 staff, INRA produces scientific knowledge and works for economic and social innovation in the areas of food, agriculture and the environment.

The Center for biotechnology and fine chemistry (CBQF) is the research centre of the biotechnology faculty of the Catholic University, it has around 55 PhD scientists and approximately the same number of PhD students and other post graduate grantholders at any one time.

Instituto Superior de Agronomia is one of the 18 Faculties and Institutes which compose the University of Lisbon. This University, first created in 1288, has recently resulted from the merging of the Classic University of Lisbon with the Technical University of Lisbon. With its ca. 47,000 undergraduate students, it has a publication record of over 6,000 scientific articles per year.

The VU University in Amsterdam (NL) was founded in 1880 and has 24,517 students and 2,764 scientific staff members. Amsterdam has two universities: the VU University and the University of Amsterdam (UvA). The life sciences faculties of both universities have strong collaborations on biophysics, microbiology, cell biology, and systems biology and bioinformatics.

INRIA, the French national institute for research in computer science and control, operating under the dual authority of the Ministry of Research and the Ministry of Industry, is dedicated to fundamental and applied research in computer science and mathematics.


Chr. Hansen A/S is a global biotechnology company that provides bioscience based natural ingredients to the food, wine, dietary supplements and agricultural industries. Chr. Hansen has 2450 employees in 30 countries, 85 distributors & agents around the world, and state-of-the-art production facilities on five continents. In 2012/13, Chr.

The Catena Institute of Wine was founded by Dr. Laura Catena in 1995 with the ambitious mission of making Argentine wines that can stand with the best in the world and of advancing Argentina´s winemaking regions for another 100 years.

The University of California is among the oldest public institutions of higher education in the United States, with its first campus established in 1869 in Berkeley, California. The UC comprises 10 campus, 5 medical research centers, and 3 national laboratories, and confers diplomas in more than 150 academic disciplines.

Curtin University has ~45,000 students and has core expertise in wine science – Curtin is presently the leading provider of professional development for Viticulturalists and Winemakers in Western Australia. Since vineyards were first planted in the region only 35 years ago, Margaret River’s grapegrowers and winemakers have created some of Australia’s leading wine companies and labels.

MYcroarray was founded in 2006 by Drs. Erdogan Gulari and Jean-Marie Rouillard to market a massively parallel DNA synthesis technology developed in Prof. Gulari at the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, USA. MYcroarray commercialize the MYbaits sequence capture kit use by researchers worldwide to enrich DNA samples for particular targets.

Ansilta Winery and Vineyards was conceived and developed as a family business. This family was personally responsible for the management, processing and marketing.

The Universidad Nacional de Quilmes (UNQ) was founded in 1989. It is located at the heart of Southern Buenos Aires Metropolitan Area, in Bernal city, Quilmes. There million people live in this region, which centralizes 20% of the country’s industrial establishments. Nowadays, the UNQ has over eighteen thousand students, distributed among its graduate and postgraduate courses.

Funded in 2006 ARDC is Non-Governmental Organization, established by the researchers of the former Research Institute of Horticulture, Viticulture and Oenology with mission to enlarge research activities in various agricultural disciplines, including viticulture, winemaking, horticulture in the field of local biodiversity study and management, conservation and popularization of agricultural her

In January 2014, a start-up company was formed with the objective of conducting the research required to commercialize the X-ray based technology previously developed at the Instituto Superior de Agronomia (ISAULISBOA), capable of non-destructively detecting infected plants and of pinpointing the exact location of blackgoo by CAT or micro-CT within the plants.

info [at]