Users - overview

By default, each website initially has a single user who is solely responsible for the maintenance of the site: the Administrator. This user has access to the all the administrative facilities, and can edit and change any content.

However, websites are usually the products of effort from many different people, so it makes sense that many people will require permission to edit the website and create their own content. People can therefore be given a user account, which can then be assigned different rights and permissions to edit different elements or parts of the website. A set of rights and permissions is known as a 'Role', and each website may have a number of associated roles, eg:

  • Administrator. This role has complete access to create, edit and delete any content and change any settings. It is therefore only assigned to one or two people to limit the potential for accidental damage to the site.
  • Content creator. A content creator has the right to create, edit and delete content on the website, but usually has limited access to the more structural, technical website settings that govern the look and feel of the website.
  • Authenticated users. An 'authenticated user' is simply someone with a user account who can log into the website (the above roles are therefore also 'authenticated users' by default). Authenticated users usually have the right to access certain restricted areas of the site (perhaps those containing sensitive or private documentation).

The 'Roles' system is very flexible, and different roles can be created to suit different circumstances. For example, if certain users need to access certain restricted areas of the website, but also need to be able to create certain types of content, this can be accommodated.

Understanding how the website's user system is essential for making sure content is secure and can't be tampered with or accidentally deleted.

info [at] microwine.eu

X